Connect2 Brazil

connect2brazil

Clare from North Wales is one of a group of nine young people who will be travelling out to Brazil with CAFOD for World Youth Day, and to see some of the work done by CAFOD’s partners in São Paulo.

This is what she has to say about her upcoming trip with CAFOD:

My name is Clare and I am 24 years old.

I have been a part of the Wrexham Diocese for over 17 years now, in my home parish of St Anne’s in Wrexham and in the parish of Our Lady and St James’ during my time studying in Bangor.

I am a CAFOD volunteer and issues of justice are a real concern for me as a Catholic Christian. I am very excited about the opportunity to travel to Brazil in July with CAFOD and witnessing first-hand the work of CAFOD’s partners in São Paulo: MDF and APOIO.

I am looking forward to meeting the communities and sharing in their culture and situation and relating to them my experiences of living in Wales.

From São Paulo I will be travelling with my group and a group of young people from São Paulo to Rio de Janeiro for World Youth Day.

It is the XXVIII WYD since John Paul II started the tradition in 1984 and this year Pope Francis will lead us for the first time, on his first international trip as Pontiff!

This pilgrimage gives me the chance to put my faith into action and to stand with my brothers and sisters in solidarity in a very real way. World Youth Day is an opportunity to deepen my faith and share in that with hundreds of thousands of young people from across the world and be inspired to return home and be a witness to Christ in my everyday life.

Thank you to all who are making this trip possible: through donations, encouragement and prayer. I will remember all of you in my prayers and actions in Brazil and I ask that you continue to pray for me and the work of CAFOD.

If you would like to read more about ‘Connect2 Brazil’ visit: www.connect2brazil.wordpress.com/

And for more information about Connect2 visit:

www.cafod.org.uk/Fundraise/Our-favourite-fundraisers/Connect2

One thought on “Connect2 Brazil

  1. Pingback: Clare’s Coffee Morning | CAFOD North Wales' Blog

Leave a Reply

